Code Self Study Forum

How the Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority uses Elixir

I don’t know much about it, but there is an upcoming webinar on Elixir in Public Transit: 3 case studies from Boston’s MBTA.

Webinar details: March 25th 17:30 GMT, 18:30 CET, 13:30 ET.

Join us as we host three team members from the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority as they explore their work with Elixir from three unique perspectives. The talk will start with a quick introduction and history of their Customer Technology department and their journey to discovering Elixir. It will then expand into three unique and distinct case studies in Elixir covering the success of each. The first case study is their public API’s, the second will cover their Skate app, a web app for bus dispatchers. Finally, they’ll cover RTR, the backend powering the subway predictions and signage.

3 key takeaways

  • Elixir is a great fit for many problems in public transit.
  • Elixir and Phoenix help us build performant, stable real-time apps while keeping our application code relatively straightforward.
  • It’s worth the learning curve for new engineers, even for those coming from backgrounds in Ruby/Python/C#.