Cryptopals Crypto Challenges

Someone mentioned this site to me today. It might interest people here.

https://www.cryptopals.com/

2 Likes

the original challenges were run by mail as mentioned in the linked blogpost.
the blog seems to have an expired cert so i’m posting the content here.

The Matasano Crypto Challenges

I recently took some time to work through the Matasano crypto challenges, a set of 48 practical programming exercises that Thomas Ptacek and his team at Matasano Security have developed as a kind of teaching tool (and baited hook).

Much of what I know (or think I know) about security has come from reading tptacek’s comments on Hacker News, so I was intrigued when I first saw him mention the security challenges a few months ago. At the same time, I worried that I’d be way out of my depth attempting them.

As a programmer, my core strengths have always been knowing how to apologize to users, and composing funny tweets. While I can hook up a web template to a database and make the squigglies come out right, I cannot efficiently sort something for you on a whiteboard, or tell you where to get a monad. From my vantage point, crypto looms as high as Mount Olympus.

To my delight, though, I was able to get through the entire sequence. It took diligence, coffee, and a lot of graph paper, but the problems were tractable. And having completed them, I’ve become convinced that anyone whose job it is to run a production website should try them, particularly if you have no experience with application security.

Since the challenges aren’t really documented anywhere, I wanted to describe what they’re like in the hopes of persuading busy people to take the plunge.